Pharmaceutical wholesalers are not required to charge a minimum price for prescription medicines

On the admissibility of discounts and discounts in pharmaceutical wholesaling in the case of dispensing prescription medicines to pharmacies

Judgment of the 5. October 2017 - I ZR 172 / 16

The I. Civil Senate of the Federal Supreme Court, which is responsible for competition law, has today ruled that pharmaceutical wholesalers are not obliged to levy a minimum price when dispensing prescription medicines to pharmacies.

Facts:

The defendant is a pharmaceutical wholesaler distributing prescription drugs (so-called Rx articles). She advertised in an information leaflet and on her website by offering her pharmacy customers a discount of 70% plus 3% discount on the discounted price on all Rx items up to 2,5 € and a discount of 70% plus 2 from 2,5 € up to the high price limit % Discount on the discounted price.

The plaintiff, the center for combating unfair competition, sees this as a violation of the price regulations in § 78 of the Medicines Act (AMG) and § 2 of the Pharmaceutical Price Regulation (AMPreisV) in the since 1. January 2012 applicable version. It has claimed the defendant for injunctive relief and compensation for charges. Continue reading

§ 12a ApoG: Expert pharmacist should run the "home pharmacy" free of charge and receive a financial compensation for the unanswered effort

a) The home care contract, which closes the pharmacist with the home carrier according to § 12a Abs. 1 ApoG, is its legal nature, subject to official approval, under private law, acting in favor of the resident framework contract, the central care of the residents by the in the Contract certain pharmacy legally legalized.
b) The statutory provision in § 12a ApoG pursues a dual objective. On the one hand, the legislator wants to provide the homes within the meaning of § 1 HeimG a knowledgeable pharmacist who leads the "home pharmacy" free of charge. On the other hand, the pharmacist should receive a (potential) financial compensation for the unpaid expenditure in such a way that he supplies the residents with medicines within the framework of a long-term contractual relationship.
c) A contracting party that terminates the contractual relationship by failing to observe an agreed period of notice violates its obligation to take due consideration under § 241 para. 2 BGB and commits a breach of duty within the meaning of § 280 para. 1 sentence 1 BGB (following BGH, judgment of 16 January 2009 - V ZR 133 / 08, NJW 2009, 1262).

BGH JUDGMENT III ZR 446 / 15 of the 14. July 2016

BGB § 280 Abs.1; ApoG § 12a Abs. 1 Continue reading

GTranslate Your license is inactive or expired, please subscribe again!

Pharmazeutische Großhändler sind nicht verpflichtet bei verschreibungspflichtigen Arzneimitteln einen Mindestpreis zu erheben

Zur wettbewerbsrechtlichen Zulässigkeit von Rabatten und Skonti im pharmazeutischen Großhandel bei Abgabe verschreibungspflichtiger Arzneimittel an Apotheken

Urteil vom 5. Oktober 2017 – I ZR 172/16

Der unter anderem für das Wettbewerbsrecht zuständige I. Zivilsenat des Bundesgerichtshofs hat heute entschieden, dass pharmazeutische Großhändler nicht verpflichtet sind, bei der Abgabe von verschreibungspflichtigen Arzneimitteln an Apotheken einen Mindestpreis zu erheben.

Sachverhalt:

Die Beklagte ist eine Pharmagroßhändlerin, die verschreibungspflichtige Arzneimittel (sogenannte Rx-Artikel) vertreibt. Sie warb in einem Informationsblatt und in ihrem Internetauftritt damit, dass sie ihren Apothekenkunden auf alle Rx-Artikel bis 70 € einen Rabatt von 3% plus 2,5% Skonto auf den rabattierten Preis und ab 70 € bis zur Hochpreisgrenze einen Rabatt von 2% plus 2,5% Skonto auf den rabattierten Preis gewähre.

Die Klägerin, die Zentrale zur Bekämpfung unlauteren Wettbewerbs, sieht darin einen Verstoß gegen die Preisvorschriften in § 78 des Arzneimittelgesetzes (AMG) und § 2 der Arzneimittelpreisverordnung (AMPreisV) in der seit dem 1. Januar 2012 geltenden Fassung. Sie hat die Beklagte auf Unterlassung und Ersatz von Abmahnkosten in Anspruch genommen. Weiterlesen

§ 12a ApoG: Sachkundiger Apotheker soll die „Heimapotheke“ kostenlos führen und für den nicht abgegoltenen Aufwand einen finanziellen Ausgleich erhalten

a) Der Heimversorgungsvertrag, den der Apotheker mit dem Heimträger nach § 12a Abs. 1 ApoG schließt, ist seiner Rechtsnatur nach ein der behördli-chen Genehmigung unterliegender, privatrechtlicher, zugunsten der Heimbewohner wirkender Rahmenvertrag, der eine zentrale Versorgung der Heimbewohner durch die in dem Vertrag bestimmte Apotheke öffentlich-rechtlich legalisiert.
b) Die gesetzliche Regelung in § 12a ApoG verfolgt eine doppelte Zielrichtung. Einerseits will der Gesetzgeber den Heimen im Sinne des § 1 HeimG einen sachkundigen Apotheker zur Seite stellen, der die „Heimapotheke“ kostenlos führt. Andererseits soll der Apotheker für den nicht abgegoltenen Aufwand einen (potentiellen) finanziellen Ausgleich dergestalt erhalten, dass er die Heimbewohner im Rahmen eines auf längere Dauer angelegten Ver-tragsverhältnisses mit Arzneimitteln beliefert.
c) Eine Vertragspartei, die das Vertragsverhältnis unter Nichtbeachtung einer vereinbarten Kündigungsfrist kündigt, verletzt ihre Pflicht zur Rücksichtnahme nach § 241 Abs. 2 BGB und begeht eine Pflichtverletzung im Sinne von § 280 Abs. 1 Satz 1 BGB (im Anschluss an BGH, Urteil vom 16. Januar 2009 – V ZR 133/08, NJW 2009, 1262).

BGH URTEIL III ZR 446/15 vom 14. Juli 2016

BGB § 280 Abs.1; ApoG § 12a Abs. 1 Weiterlesen