The duty to inform the doctor exists only with respect to those risks that are already known at the time of treatment.

a) A duty to inform the doctor exists only with respect to those risks that are already known at the time of treatment.
b) The appellant, who triumphs in the first instance, may rely not only on timely notification that, and for what reasons, the Appeals Tribunal does not wish to follow the appraisal of the lower court, but also to obtain an opportunity to supplement his case-statement effectively or to take further evidence.
c) § 531 para. 2 sentence 1 No. 1 ZPO presupposes that the legal opinion of the court has influenced the first-instance substantive submissions of the party and has therefore become (co-) the reason for the fact that party submissions have been postponed to appeal proceedings. However, this is already to be assumed if the court of the first instance, had it shared the later considered correct by the Court of Appeal, had been obliged to make a reference under Section 139 para. 2 ZPO.

BGH DECISION VI ZR 370 / 17 of 29. May 2018

BGB § 280, § 823 Abs. 1 Aa, I; GG Art. 103 Abs. 1; ZPO § 531 Abs. 2 Continue reading

Burden of proof for a breach of the obligation to inform a re-pregnancy

The burden of proof for a violation of the obligation to inform a re-pregnancy has the patient. It must therefore be certain that the reference to the failure rate has been omitted.

OLG Hamm 26 U 112 / 13 vom 17.06.2014 - Information on the possibility of pregnancy despite sterilization Continue reading

Liability for a partly fateful, partly caused by treatment error health damage on the occasion of a birth

The plaintiff suffered severe damage to his health in connection with his birth. Therefore, he claimed the treating gynecologist, the midwife, a pediatric nurse and the carrier of the document hospital for damages.

In the first part of the proceedings, the grounds for the claim were a final verdict of the Oberlandesgericht. It found that the defendants were jointly and severally liable to compensate the plaintiff for all damages incurred by the plaintiff "on the occasion of and in response to the defendant's treatment after birth". The present part of the proceedings concerned the amount of the damages due to the applicant. In that regard, the Oberlandesgericht has ruled that a binding effect resulted from the previous basic judgment in that the defendants were liable only for the damages incurred by the claimant after his birth. In that regard, the amount of damages caused by the defendant must be limited to a maximum of 20%. Continue reading

Dentist has a patient about a prosthetic restoration by means of single crowns or a blockage completely clear

A dentist should fully educate a patient about prosthetic restoration using single crowns or interlocking if both treatments are medically equally indicated and commonplace and have substantially different risks and chances of success so that the patient has a real choice.

Higher Regional Court Hamm, 26 U 54 / 13 of the 17.12.2013

§§ 823, 253, 249ff BGB Continue reading

Preservation of the patient's right to self-determination

Maintaining the patient's right to self-determination requires information about an alternative treatment option if several equally-valued treatment options are available for medically meaningful and indicated therapy

The appellate court correctly confirmed that the defendant had an obligation to provide information that two treatment alternatives were available, one of which was a new-country procedure at that time. According to the case law of the cognitive Senate, the choice of the treatment method is primarily the responsibility of the physician (Senate judgments BGHZ 102, 17, 22, 106, 153, 157, of the 11 May 1982 - VI ZR 171 / 80 - VersR 1982, 771, 772, 24, No-vember 1987 - VI ZR 65 / 87 - VersR 1988, 190, 191, and 15 March 2005 - VI ZR 313 / 03 - VersR 2005, 836; OLG two-bridges, OLGR 2001, 79, 81 with Senate decision of 19 December 2000 - VI ZR 171 / 00 - OLG Karlsruhe, MedR 2003, 229, 230).

The preservation of the patient's right to self-determination requires, however, information about an alternative treatment option if several equivalent treatment options are available for medically meaningful and indicated therapy, which lead to different strains on the patient or offer different risks and chances of success (Senate judgments BGHZ 102, 17 , 22; 106, 153, 157; of the 14 September 2004 - VI ZR 186 / 03 - VersR 2005, 227; of the 15 March 2005 - VI ZR 313 / 03 - aaO; Katzenmeier, Arzstaftung, 2002, S. 331 f ; MünchKommBGB / Wagner, 4., Ed., § 823 Rn. 707 f .; Staudinger / Hager, BGB, 13. Editing [1999], § 823, Rn. I 92 mwN).

That then in the dispute, the obligation to educate about the alternative possibilities of manual or computer-assisted operation was, the court of appeal affirmed without errors of law. The Court of Appeal's finding that the plaintiff was duly informed about the advantages and disadvantages of the treatment methods known at that time is not objectionable from the point of view of auditing, especially taking into account that even if a new method of treatment is used, as usual "The chances and risks of the treatment must be explained to all (permanent case law, see Senate Judgments XHZ 90, 103, 106, 144, 1, 7 and 7 April 1992 - VI ZR 192 / 91 - VersR 1992, 960, 961).

Insofar as the appeal raises procedural complaints against the findings on the extent of the information provided, the Senate has examined these and found them to be inconsistent (§ 564 ZPO). Nevertheless, the information given to the patient was not sufficient in every respect. Continue reading

Single judge decision in medical liability cases does not constitute a violation of the statutory judge

a) According to § 538 para. 1 ZPO, the Appeals Tribunal must in principle gather the necessary evidence and decide on the case itself. Whether or not the proceedings in the first instance suffer from a material defect which exceptionally allows a remittal to the first instance court under Paragraph 538 2 No. 1 ZPO is to be judged solely on the basis of the substantive legal position of the court of first instance ,

b) If the business allocation plan does not provide for any special jurisdiction of a Civil Chamber according to § 348 para. 1 no. 2 e. ZPO, a decision by the single judge is not due to the fact that doctor-liability matters are in principle of the full staff have been a violation of the right to the statutory judge.

BGH JUDGMENT VI ZR 325 / 11 of 14. May 2013

XPO § 141 para 1, § 448, § 348 para. 1 letter e, § 538 para. 1, para. 2 sentence 1 no. 1, GC Art. 101 para. 1 sentence 2 Continue reading

Legal interest in a pre-litigation clarification of the liability-legally relevant reasons for a health damage

A legal interest in a pre-litigation clarification of liability-relevant reasons for damage to health by an expert can be given in independent proceedings, even if the determination of the avoidance of litigation can serve, but for a final clarification further clarifications appear necessary.

BGH DECISION VI eg 12 / 13 of the 24. September 2013

ZPO § 485 Abs. 2 Continue reading

In the case of medical liability matters, the prohibition of over-acceleration applies equally to an expert's report

(a) in the case of a medical offense, there may be a breach of the constitutional prohibition of "over-acceleration" in particular if the defense allegedly rejected as late would have prompted an expert's opinion, which was generally written, but in the period between the end of the opposition anyway, could not have been obtained anyway.

b) Defensive means are generally not filed "after expiry of a period set for this purpose" (§ 296 para. 1 ZPO), if the court after the expiry of the (according to § 276 para. 1 sentence 2 ZPO set (and extended) Anwerwide- give the defendant an opportunity to reply to the complaint without setting a time-limit.
BGH, judgment of the 3. July 2012 - VI ZR 120 / 11 - OLG Karlsruhe

ZPO § 296 Abs. 1, § 340 Abs. 3 Satz 3 Continue reading

Using an outsider's method in a follow-up treatment requires patient education by surgeons

The need for patient information from a surgeon about his or her intention to use an outsider method in a follow-up treatment that may become necessary due to the realization of a risk typically associated with initial surgery.

BGH, judgment of the 22. December 2010 - 3 StR 239 / 10 - LG Moenchengladbach
StGB § 223 para. 1, § 224 para. 1 Nr. 2, § 228 Continue reading

Prescription of birth defects in case of grossly negligent ignorance of the performance department of the insurance and non-information of the regress department

A presumption of limitation according to § 199 Abs. 1 Nr. 2 BGB setting in running grossly negligent ignorance is not given in cases of recourse, if the employees of the performance department of the insurance of the injured party in a division of labor no initiatives to investigate the damage unfold and therefore the claim the employees of the Regressab-Division did not become aware.
BGH, judgment of the 28. February 2012 - VI ZR 9 / 11 - KG Berlin
LG Berlin Continue reading

GTranslate Your license is inactive or expired, please subscribe again!

Beweislast für eine Verletzung der Informationspflicht einer erneuten Schwangerschaft

Die Beweislast für eine Verletzung der Informationspflicht einer erneuten Schwangerschaft hat die Patientin. Es muss daher sicher feststehen, dass der Hinweis auf die Versagerquote unterlassen worden ist.

OLG Hamm 26 U 112/13 vom 17.06.2014 – Aufklärung über die Möglichkeit einer Schwangerschaft trotz Sterilisation Weiterlesen

Haftung bei einem teils schicksalhaft, teils behandlungsfehlerhaft verursachten Gesundheitsschaden anlässlich einer Geburt

Der Kläger erlitt im Zusammenhang mit seiner Geburt einen schweren Gesundheitsschaden. Deswegen nahm er den behandelnden Gynäkologen, die Hebamme, eine Kinderkrankenschwester und den Träger des Beleg-Krankenhauses auf Schadensersatz in Anspruch.

Im ersten Teil des Verfahrens erging zum Anspruchsgrund ein rechtskräftiges Grund- und Teilendurteil des Oberlandesgerichts. In diesem wurde festgestellt, dass die Beklagten als Gesamtschuldner verpflichtet sind, dem Kläger sämtliche Schäden zu ersetzen, die dem Kläger „anlässlich und aufgrund der Behandlung durch die Beklagten nach seiner Geburt“ entstanden sind und noch entstehen werden. Im vorliegenden Verfahrensabschnitt ging es um die Höhe des dem Kläger zustehenden Schadensersatzes. Das Oberlandesgericht hat insoweit entschieden, dass sich aus dem vorangegangenen Grundurteil eine Bindungswirkung dahin ergebe, dass die Beklagten nur für die Schäden hafteten, die dem Kläger nach seiner Geburt entstanden seien. Insoweit sei der von den Beklagten verursachte Schadensanteil auf höchstens 20 % zu begrenzen.  Weiterlesen

Zahnarzt hat einen Patienten über eine prothetische Versorgung mittels Einzelkronen oder einer Verblockung vollständig aufzuklären

Ein Zahnarzt hat einen Patienten über eine prothetische Versorgung mittels Einzelkronen oder einer Verblockung vollständig aufzuklären, wenn beide Behandlungsmethoden medizinisch gleichermaßen indiziert und üblich sind und wesentlich unterschiedliche Risiken und Erfolgschancen aufweisen, so dass der Patient eine echte Wahlmöglichkeit hat.

Oberlandesgericht Hamm, 26 U 54/13 vom 17.12.2013

§§ 823, 253, 249ff BGB Weiterlesen

Wahrung des Selbstbestimmungsrechts des Patienten

Wahrung des Selbstbestimmungsrechts des Patienten erfordert eine Unterrichtung über eine alternative Behandlungsmöglichkeit, wenn für eine medizinisch sinnvolle und indizierte Therapie mehrere gleichwertige Behandlungsmöglichkeiten zur Verfügung stehen

Zutreffend hat das Berufungsgericht eine Verpflichtung der Beklagten zur Aufklärung darüber bejaht, dass zwei Behandlungsalternativen zur Verfügung standen, wovon eine seinerzeit ein Neulandverfahren war. Nach der Rechtsprechung des erkennenden Senats ist die Wahl der Behandlungsmetho-de zwar primär Sache des Arztes (Senatsurteile BGHZ 102, 17, 22; 106, 153, 157; vom 11. Mai 1982 – VI ZR 171/80 – VersR 1982, 771, 772; vom 24. No-vember 1987 – VI ZR 65/87 – VersR 1988, 190, 191 und vom 15. März 2005 – VI ZR 313/03 – VersR 2005, 836; OLG Zweibrücken, OLGR 2001, 79, 81 mit NA-Beschluss des Senats vom 19. Dezember 2000 – VI ZR 171/00 -; OLG Karlsruhe, MedR 2003, 229, 230).

Die Wahrung des Selbstbestimmungsrechts des Patienten erfordert aber eine Unterrichtung über eine alternative Behandlungsmöglichkeit, wenn für eine medizinisch sinnvolle und indizierte Therapie mehrere gleichwertige Behandlungsmöglichkeiten zur Verfügung stehen, die zu jeweils unterschiedlichen Belastungen des Patienten führen oder unterschiedliche Risiken und Erfolgschancen bieten (Senatsurteile BGHZ 102, 17, 22; 106, 153, 157; vom 14. September 2004 – VI ZR 186/03 – VersR 2005, 227; vom 15. März 2005 – VI ZR 313/03 – aaO; Katzenmeier, Arzthaftung, 2002, S. 331 f.; MünchKommBGB/Wagner, 4. Aufl., § 823 Rn. 707 f.; Staudinger/Hager, BGB, 13. Bearbeitung [1999], § 823, Rn. I 92 m.w.N.).

Dass danach im Streitfall die Pflicht zur Aufklärung über die alternativen Möglichkeiten der manuellen bzw. computergestützten Operation bestand, hat das Berufungsgericht ohne Rechts-fehler bejaht. Auch die Feststellung des Berufungsgerichts, die Klägerin sei über die damals bekannten Vor- und Nachteile der Behandlungsmethoden ordnungsgemäß aufgeklärt worden, ist aus revisionsrechtlicher Sicht nicht zu beanstanden, insbesondere unter Berücksichtigung dessen, dass der Patient auch bei Anwendung einer neuen Behandlungsmethode wie sonst nur „im großen und ganzen“ über Chancen und Risiken der Behandlung aufgeklärt werden muss (ständige Rechtsprechung, vgl. Senatsurteile BGHZ 90, 103, 106; 144, 1, 7 und vom 7. April 1992 – VI ZR 192/91 – VersR 1992, 960, 961).

Soweit die Revision gegen die Feststellungen zum Umfang der erteilten Aufklärung Verfahrensrügen erhebt, hat der Senat diese geprüft und für nicht durchgreifend erachtet (§ 564 ZPO). Gleichwohl war die der Patientin erteilte Aufklärung nicht in jeder Hinsicht ausreichend. Weiterlesen

Einzelrichterentscheidung in Arzthaftungsfällen stellt keinen Verstoß gegen den gesetzlichen Richter dar

a) Nach § 538 Abs. 1 ZPO hat das Berufungsgericht grundsätzlich die notwendigen Beweise zu erheben und in der Sache selbst zu entscheiden. Ob das Verfahren im ersten Rechtszuge an einem wesentlichen Mangel leidet, der nach § 538 Abs. 2 Satz 1 Nr. 1 ZPO ausnahmsweise eine Zurückverweisung an das Gericht des ersten Rechtszugs ermöglicht, ist allein aufgrund des ma-teriell-rechtlichen Standpunkts des Erstgerichts zu beurteilen.

b) Sieht der Geschäftsverteilungsplan keine Spezialzuständigkeit einer Zivil-kammer nach § 348 Abs. 1 Nr. 2 Buchst. e ZPO vor, ist bei einer Entschei-dung durch den Einzelrichter nicht schon wegen des Umstands, dass Arzt-haftungssachen grundsätzlich vom voll besetzten Spruchkörper zu verhan-deln sind, ein Verstoß gegen den Anspruch auf den gesetzlichen Richter ge-geben.

BGH URTEIL VI ZR 325/11 vom 14. Mai 2013

ZPO § 141 Abs. 1, § 448, § 348 Abs. 1 Buchst. e, § 538 Abs. 1, Abs. 2 Satz 1 Nr. 1, GG Art. 101 Abs. 1 Satz 2 Weiterlesen

Rechtliches Interesse an einer vorprozessualen Klärung der haftungsrechtlich maßgeblichen Gründe für einen Gesundheitsschaden

Ein rechtliches Interesse an einer vorprozessualen Klärung der haftungsrechtlich maßgeblichen Gründe für einen Gesundheitsschaden durch einen Sachverständigen kann im selbständigen Beweisverfahren auch dann gegeben sein, wenn zwar die Feststellung der Vermeidung eines Rechtsstreits dienen kann, jedoch für eine ab-schließende Klärung weitere Aufklärungen erforderlich erscheinen.

BGH BESCHLUSS VI ZB 12/13 vom 24. September 2013

ZPO § 485 Abs. 2 Weiterlesen

In Arzthaftungssachen gilt im Zusammenhang mit einem Sachverständigengutachten das Verbot der Überbeschleunigung gleichermassen

a) In Arzthaftungssachen kann ein Verstoß gegen das verfassungsmäßige Ver-bot einer „Überbeschleunigung“ insbesondere dann vorliegen, wenn das als verspätet zurückgewiesene Verteidigungsvorbringen ein – in der Regel schriftliches – Sachverständigengutachten veranlasst hätte, dieses Sachverständigengutachten aber in der Zeit zwischen dem Ende der Einspruchsbe-gründungsfrist und der darauf folgenden mündlichen Verhandlung ohnehin nicht hätte eingeholt werden können.

b) Verteidigungsmittel sind in der Regel nicht „nach Ablauf einer hierfür gesetz-ten Frist“ (§ 296 Abs. 1 ZPO) vorgebracht, wenn das Gericht nach Ablauf der gemäß § 276 Abs. 1 Satz 2 ZPO gesetzten (und verlängerten) Klageerwide-rungsfrist dem Beklagten ohne Fristsetzung nochmals Gelegenheit zur Kla-geerwiderung gibt.
BGH, Urteil vom 3. Juli 2012 – VI ZR 120/11 – OLG Karlsruhe

ZPO § 296 Abs. 1, § 340 Abs. 3 Satz 3 Weiterlesen

Anwendung einer Außenseitermethode bei einer Folgebehandlung erfodert eine Patientenaufklärung durch Chirurgen

Zur erforderlichen Patientenaufklärung durch einen Chirurgen über dessen Absicht, bei einer Folgebehandlung, die wegen der Verwirklichung eines der Erstoperation typischerweise anhaftenden Risikos notwendig werden könnte, auch eine Außensei-termethode anzuwenden.

BGH, Urteil vom 22. Dezember 2010 – 3 StR 239/10 – LG Mönchengladbach
StGB § 223 Abs. 1, § 224 Abs. 1 Nr. 2, § 228 Weiterlesen

Verjährung eines Geburtsschadens bei eventueller grob fahrlässiger Unkenntnis der Leistungsabteilung der Versicherung und Nichtinformation der Regressabteilung

Eine die Verjährungsfrist gemäß § 199 Abs. 1 Nr. 2 BGB in Lauf setzende grob fahrlässige Unkenntnis ist in Regressfällen nicht schon dann gegeben, wenn die Mitarbeiter der Leistungsabteilung der Versicherung des Geschädigten bei arbeitsteiliger Organisation keine Initiativen zur Aufklärung des Schadensgeschehens entfalten und deshalb der Schadensfall den Mitarbeitern der Regressab-teilung nicht bekannt geworden ist.
BGH, Urteil vom 28. Februar 2012 – VI ZR 9/11 – KG Berlin
LG Berlin Weiterlesen

Einstandspflicht des Arztes für die Folgen eines Zweiteingriffs durch einen nachbehandelnden Arzt

Zur Einstandspflicht des Arztes für die Folgen eines Zweiteingriffs durch einen nachbehandelnden Arzt, der erforderlich wird, weil dem vorbehandelnden Arzt beim Ersteingriff ein Behandlungsfehler unterlaufen ist.

BGH, Urteil vom 22. Mai 2012 – VI ZR 157/11 – OLG München
LG München I

BGB § 823 Abs. 1 F, § 249 Ba
Weiterlesen