Treatment error of a veterinarian

Also, when a veterinarian treats an animal, a gross maladministration capable of causing harm of the kind actually encountered regularly results in the reversal of the objective burden of proof on the causal link between the treatment error and the damage to health.

BGH JUDGMENT VI ZR 247 / 15 of 10. May 2016

BGB § 823 I Continue reading

Burden of proof for a breach of the obligation to inform a re-pregnancy

The burden of proof for a violation of the obligation to inform a re-pregnancy has the patient. It must therefore be certain that the reference to the failure rate has been omitted.

OLG Hamm 26 U 112 / 13 vom 17.06.2014 - Information on the possibility of pregnancy despite sterilization Continue reading

Liability for a partly fateful, partly caused by treatment error health damage on the occasion of a birth

The plaintiff suffered severe damage to his health in connection with his birth. Therefore, he claimed the treating gynecologist, the midwife, a pediatric nurse and the carrier of the document hospital for damages.

In the first part of the proceedings, the grounds for the claim were a final verdict of the Oberlandesgericht. It found that the defendants were jointly and severally liable to compensate the plaintiff for all damages incurred by the plaintiff "on the occasion of and in response to the defendant's treatment after birth". The present part of the proceedings concerned the amount of the damages due to the applicant. In that regard, the Oberlandesgericht has ruled that a binding effect resulted from the previous basic judgment in that the defendants were liable only for the damages incurred by the claimant after his birth. In that regard, the amount of damages caused by the defendant must be limited to a maximum of 20%. Continue reading

Single judge decision in medical liability cases does not constitute a violation of the statutory judge

a) According to § 538 para. 1 ZPO, the Appeals Tribunal must in principle gather the necessary evidence and decide on the case itself. Whether or not the proceedings in the first instance suffer from a material defect which exceptionally allows a remittal to the first instance court under Paragraph 538 2 No. 1 ZPO is to be judged solely on the basis of the substantive legal position of the court of first instance ,

b) If the business allocation plan does not provide for any special jurisdiction of a Civil Chamber according to § 348 para. 1 no. 2 e. ZPO, a decision by the single judge is not due to the fact that doctor-liability matters are in principle of the full staff have been a violation of the right to the statutory judge.

BGH JUDGMENT VI ZR 325 / 11 of 14. May 2013

XPO § 141 para 1, § 448, § 348 para. 1 letter e, § 538 para. 1, para. 2 sentence 1 no. 1, GC Art. 101 para. 1 sentence 2 Continue reading

Using an outsider's method in a follow-up treatment requires patient education by surgeons

The need for patient information from a surgeon about his or her intention to use an outsider method in a follow-up treatment that may become necessary due to the realization of a risk typically associated with initial surgery.

BGH, judgment of the 22. December 2010 - 3 StR 239 / 10 - LG Moenchengladbach
StGB § 223 para. 1, § 224 para. 1 Nr. 2, § 228 Continue reading

Prescription of birth defects in case of grossly negligent ignorance of the performance department of the insurance and non-information of the regress department

A presumption of limitation according to § 199 Abs. 1 Nr. 2 BGB setting in running grossly negligent ignorance is not given in cases of recourse, if the employees of the performance department of the insurance of the injured party in a division of labor no initiatives to investigate the damage unfold and therefore the claim the employees of the Regressab-Division did not become aware.
BGH, judgment of the 28. February 2012 - VI ZR 9 / 11 - KG Berlin
LG Berlin Continue reading

Obligation of the physician for the consequences of a second intervention by a post-doctor

Obligation of the physician to accept the consequences of a second intervention by a post-treatment physician, which is required because the pretreating physician has undergone a treatment error during the first intervention.

BGH, judgment of the 22. May 2012 - VI ZR 157 / 11 - OLG Munich
LG Munich I

BGB § 823 Abs. 1 F, § 249 Ba
Continue reading

Assignment of an unnecessary human blood test by an external laboratory doctor

If the attending physician commissions an external laboratory doctor on behalf of his private patient with a non-required human genetic blood test, the laboratory doctor is not entitled to any compensation against the patient.

If the attending physician commissions an external laboratory doctor in the name of his private patient with a human blood test, which is objectively not necessary for a medically necessary medical care within the meaning of § 1 para. 2 sentence 1 GOÄ, then the laboratory doctor will not be entitled to claim remuneration from the patient if the laboratory doctor fulfilled the assignment assigned to him without errors and on the basis of his knowledge had no reason to doubt the necessity of the examination.
BGH, judgment of the 14. January 2010 - III ZR 188 / 09 - Brandenburg OLG
LG Neuruppin

GOÄ § 1 para. 2 sentence 1 Continue reading

Inspection of the treatment documents by the trial lawyers in medical liability proceedings

The original documents filed by the parties pursuant to § 134 ZPO or by third parties pursuant to § 142 para. 1 ZPO are not part of the court records. A claim for access to the file or the issue of copies does not follow directly from § 299 ZPO. For documents that are directly from the court gem. § 142 ZPO be requested from third parties, there is a claim to the production of photocopies but both from the provisions of §§ 131, 133 ZPO and an analogous application of § 299 ZPO in compliance with the principle of legal hearing acc. Art. 103 para. 1 GG.

§ 299 ZPO does not expressly provide for a transmission of the case files to the representatives of the parties. However, the shipment may be made in due discretion if the files are expendable and the recipient is trustworthy. The decision must respect the principle of the right to be heard.

The same applies to the documents and documents filed by the parties or pursuant to § 142 ZPO if the person between whom and the court established the custody relationship agrees to a transmission of the files to the authorized representatives of the parties. Before the court refuses to send it, it must first ask the third party whether they agree to a transmission of the documents to the representatives of both parties.

Continue reading

GTranslate Your license is inactive or expired, please subscribe again!

Behandlungsfehler eines Tierarztes

Auch bei der Behandlung eines Tieres durch einen Tierarzt führt ein grober Behandlungsfehler, der geeignet ist, einen Schaden der tatsächlich eingetretenen Art herbeizuführen, regelmäßig zur Umkehr der objektiven Beweislast für den ursächlichen Zusammenhang zwischen dem Behandlungsfehler und dem Gesundheitsschaden.

BGH URTEIL VI ZR 247/15 vom 10. Mai 2016

BGB § 823 I Weiterlesen

Beweislast für eine Verletzung der Informationspflicht einer erneuten Schwangerschaft

Die Beweislast für eine Verletzung der Informationspflicht einer erneuten Schwangerschaft hat die Patientin. Es muss daher sicher feststehen, dass der Hinweis auf die Versagerquote unterlassen worden ist.

OLG Hamm 26 U 112/13 vom 17.06.2014 – Aufklärung über die Möglichkeit einer Schwangerschaft trotz Sterilisation Weiterlesen

Haftung bei einem teils schicksalhaft, teils behandlungsfehlerhaft verursachten Gesundheitsschaden anlässlich einer Geburt

Der Kläger erlitt im Zusammenhang mit seiner Geburt einen schweren Gesundheitsschaden. Deswegen nahm er den behandelnden Gynäkologen, die Hebamme, eine Kinderkrankenschwester und den Träger des Beleg-Krankenhauses auf Schadensersatz in Anspruch.

Im ersten Teil des Verfahrens erging zum Anspruchsgrund ein rechtskräftiges Grund- und Teilendurteil des Oberlandesgerichts. In diesem wurde festgestellt, dass die Beklagten als Gesamtschuldner verpflichtet sind, dem Kläger sämtliche Schäden zu ersetzen, die dem Kläger „anlässlich und aufgrund der Behandlung durch die Beklagten nach seiner Geburt“ entstanden sind und noch entstehen werden. Im vorliegenden Verfahrensabschnitt ging es um die Höhe des dem Kläger zustehenden Schadensersatzes. Das Oberlandesgericht hat insoweit entschieden, dass sich aus dem vorangegangenen Grundurteil eine Bindungswirkung dahin ergebe, dass die Beklagten nur für die Schäden hafteten, die dem Kläger nach seiner Geburt entstanden seien. Insoweit sei der von den Beklagten verursachte Schadensanteil auf höchstens 20 % zu begrenzen.  Weiterlesen

Einzelrichterentscheidung in Arzthaftungsfällen stellt keinen Verstoß gegen den gesetzlichen Richter dar

a) Nach § 538 Abs. 1 ZPO hat das Berufungsgericht grundsätzlich die notwendigen Beweise zu erheben und in der Sache selbst zu entscheiden. Ob das Verfahren im ersten Rechtszuge an einem wesentlichen Mangel leidet, der nach § 538 Abs. 2 Satz 1 Nr. 1 ZPO ausnahmsweise eine Zurückverweisung an das Gericht des ersten Rechtszugs ermöglicht, ist allein aufgrund des ma-teriell-rechtlichen Standpunkts des Erstgerichts zu beurteilen.

b) Sieht der Geschäftsverteilungsplan keine Spezialzuständigkeit einer Zivil-kammer nach § 348 Abs. 1 Nr. 2 Buchst. e ZPO vor, ist bei einer Entschei-dung durch den Einzelrichter nicht schon wegen des Umstands, dass Arzt-haftungssachen grundsätzlich vom voll besetzten Spruchkörper zu verhan-deln sind, ein Verstoß gegen den Anspruch auf den gesetzlichen Richter ge-geben.

BGH URTEIL VI ZR 325/11 vom 14. Mai 2013

ZPO § 141 Abs. 1, § 448, § 348 Abs. 1 Buchst. e, § 538 Abs. 1, Abs. 2 Satz 1 Nr. 1, GG Art. 101 Abs. 1 Satz 2 Weiterlesen

Anwendung einer Außenseitermethode bei einer Folgebehandlung erfodert eine Patientenaufklärung durch Chirurgen

Zur erforderlichen Patientenaufklärung durch einen Chirurgen über dessen Absicht, bei einer Folgebehandlung, die wegen der Verwirklichung eines der Erstoperation typischerweise anhaftenden Risikos notwendig werden könnte, auch eine Außensei-termethode anzuwenden.

BGH, Urteil vom 22. Dezember 2010 – 3 StR 239/10 – LG Mönchengladbach
StGB § 223 Abs. 1, § 224 Abs. 1 Nr. 2, § 228 Weiterlesen

Verjährung eines Geburtsschadens bei eventueller grob fahrlässiger Unkenntnis der Leistungsabteilung der Versicherung und Nichtinformation der Regressabteilung

Eine die Verjährungsfrist gemäß § 199 Abs. 1 Nr. 2 BGB in Lauf setzende grob fahrlässige Unkenntnis ist in Regressfällen nicht schon dann gegeben, wenn die Mitarbeiter der Leistungsabteilung der Versicherung des Geschädigten bei arbeitsteiliger Organisation keine Initiativen zur Aufklärung des Schadensgeschehens entfalten und deshalb der Schadensfall den Mitarbeitern der Regressab-teilung nicht bekannt geworden ist.
BGH, Urteil vom 28. Februar 2012 – VI ZR 9/11 – KG Berlin
LG Berlin Weiterlesen

Einstandspflicht des Arztes für die Folgen eines Zweiteingriffs durch einen nachbehandelnden Arzt

Zur Einstandspflicht des Arztes für die Folgen eines Zweiteingriffs durch einen nachbehandelnden Arzt, der erforderlich wird, weil dem vorbehandelnden Arzt beim Ersteingriff ein Behandlungsfehler unterlaufen ist.

BGH, Urteil vom 22. Mai 2012 – VI ZR 157/11 – OLG München
LG München I

BGB § 823 Abs. 1 F, § 249 Ba
Weiterlesen

Beauftragung einer nicht erforderlichen humangenetischen Blutuntersuchung durch einen externen Laborarzt

Beauftragt der behandelnde Arzt einen externen Laborarzt im Namen seines Privatpatienten mit einer nicht erforderlichen humangenetischen Blutuntersuchung, steht dem Laborarzt keine Vergütung gegen den Patienten zu.

Beauftragt der behandelnde Arzt einen externen Laborarzt im Namen seines Privatpatienten mit einer humangenetischen Blutuntersuchung, die objektiv für eine medizinisch notwendige ärztliche Versorgung im Sinne des § 1 Abs. 2 Satz 1 GOÄ nicht erforderlich ist, steht dem Laborarzt gegen den Patienten ein Vergütungsanspruch auch dann nicht zu, wenn der Laborarzt den ihm er-teilten Auftrag fehlerfrei erfüllt und auf der Grundlage seines Kenntnisstands keine Veranlassung hatte, die Erforderlichkeit der Untersuchung in Zweifel zu ziehen.
BGH, Urteil vom 14. Januar 2010 – III ZR 188/09 – Brandenburgisches OLG
LG Neuruppin

GOÄ § 1 Abs. 2 Satz 1 Weiterlesen

Einsichtnahme in die Behandlungsunterlagen durch die Prozessanwälte in Arzthaftungsprozessen

Die von den Parteien nach § 134 ZPO oder die von Dritten nach § 142 Abs. 1 ZPO eingereichten Original-Urkunden sind nicht Teil der Gerichtsakten. Ein Anspruch auf Akteneinsicht bzw. auf die Erteilung von Abschriften folgt nicht unmittelbar aus § 299 ZPO. Bei Urkunden, die unmittelbar vom Gericht gem. § 142 ZPO bei Dritten angefordert werden, ergibt sich ein Anspruch auf die Anfertigung von Fotokopien aber sowohl aus den Regelungen der §§ 131, 133 ZPO sowie einer analogen Anwendung des § 299 ZPO unter Beachtung des Grundsatzes auf rechtliches Gehör gem. Art. 103 Abs. 1 GG.

§ 299 ZPO sieht eine Übersendung der Prozessakten an Prozessbevollmächtigte der Parteien nicht ausdrücklich vor. Die Versendung kann aber nach pflichtgemäßen Ermessen erfolgen, wenn die Akten entbehrlich und der Empfänger vertrauenswürdig ist. Bei der Entscheidung ist der Grundsatz des rechtlichen Gehörs zu berücksichtigen.

Dasselbe gilt für die von den Parteien oder gemäß § 142 ZPO von Dritten eingereichten Urkunden und Unterlagen dann, wenn die Person, zwischen der und dem Gericht das Verwahrungsverhältnis begründet wurde, einer Übersendung der Akten an die Prozessbevollmächtigten zustimmt. Bevor das Gericht eine Übersendung ablehnt, hat es zunächst bei den Dritten anzufragen, ob diese einer Übersendung der Unterlagen an die Prozessbevollmächtigten beider Parteien zustimmen.

Weiterlesen