In the case of medical liability matters, the prohibition of over-acceleration applies equally to an expert's report

(a) in the case of a medical offense, there may be a breach of the constitutional prohibition of "over-acceleration" in particular if the defense allegedly rejected as late would have prompted an expert's opinion, which was generally written, but in the period between the end of the opposition anyway, could not have been obtained anyway.

b) Defensive means are generally not filed "after expiry of a period set for this purpose" (§ 296 para. 1 ZPO), if the court after the expiry of the (according to § 276 para. 1 sentence 2 ZPO set (and extended) Anwerwide- give the defendant an opportunity to reply to the complaint without setting a time-limit.
BGH, judgment of the 3. July 2012 - VI ZR 120 / 11 - OLG Karlsruhe

ZPO § 296 Abs. 1, § 340 Abs. 3 Satz 3 Continue reading

Obligation of the physician for the consequences of a second intervention by a post-doctor

Obligation of the physician to accept the consequences of a second intervention by a post-treatment physician, which is required because the pretreating physician has undergone a treatment error during the first intervention.

BGH, judgment of the 22. May 2012 - VI ZR 157 / 11 - OLG Munich
LG Munich I

BGB § 823 Abs. 1 F, § 249 Ba
Continue reading

Inspection of the treatment documents by the trial lawyers in medical liability proceedings

The original documents filed by the parties pursuant to § 134 ZPO or by third parties pursuant to § 142 para. 1 ZPO are not part of the court records. A claim for access to the file or the issue of copies does not follow directly from § 299 ZPO. For documents that are directly from the court gem. § 142 ZPO be requested from third parties, there is a claim to the production of photocopies but both from the provisions of §§ 131, 133 ZPO and an analogous application of § 299 ZPO in compliance with the principle of legal hearing acc. Art. 103 para. 1 GG.

§ 299 ZPO does not expressly provide for a transmission of the case files to the representatives of the parties. However, the shipment may be made in due discretion if the files are expendable and the recipient is trustworthy. The decision must respect the principle of the right to be heard.

The same applies to the documents and documents filed by the parties or pursuant to § 142 ZPO if the person between whom and the court established the custody relationship agrees to a transmission of the files to the authorized representatives of the parties. Before the court refuses to send it, it must first ask the third party whether they agree to a transmission of the documents to the representatives of both parties.

Continue reading

GTranslate Your license is inactive or expired, please subscribe again!

In Arzthaftungssachen gilt im Zusammenhang mit einem Sachverständigengutachten das Verbot der Überbeschleunigung gleichermassen

a) In Arzthaftungssachen kann ein Verstoß gegen das verfassungsmäßige Ver-bot einer „Überbeschleunigung“ insbesondere dann vorliegen, wenn das als verspätet zurückgewiesene Verteidigungsvorbringen ein – in der Regel schriftliches – Sachverständigengutachten veranlasst hätte, dieses Sachverständigengutachten aber in der Zeit zwischen dem Ende der Einspruchsbe-gründungsfrist und der darauf folgenden mündlichen Verhandlung ohnehin nicht hätte eingeholt werden können.

b) Verteidigungsmittel sind in der Regel nicht „nach Ablauf einer hierfür gesetz-ten Frist“ (§ 296 Abs. 1 ZPO) vorgebracht, wenn das Gericht nach Ablauf der gemäß § 276 Abs. 1 Satz 2 ZPO gesetzten (und verlängerten) Klageerwide-rungsfrist dem Beklagten ohne Fristsetzung nochmals Gelegenheit zur Kla-geerwiderung gibt.
BGH, Urteil vom 3. Juli 2012 – VI ZR 120/11 – OLG Karlsruhe

ZPO § 296 Abs. 1, § 340 Abs. 3 Satz 3 Weiterlesen

Einstandspflicht des Arztes für die Folgen eines Zweiteingriffs durch einen nachbehandelnden Arzt

Zur Einstandspflicht des Arztes für die Folgen eines Zweiteingriffs durch einen nachbehandelnden Arzt, der erforderlich wird, weil dem vorbehandelnden Arzt beim Ersteingriff ein Behandlungsfehler unterlaufen ist.

BGH, Urteil vom 22. Mai 2012 – VI ZR 157/11 – OLG München
LG München I

BGB § 823 Abs. 1 F, § 249 Ba
Weiterlesen

Einsichtnahme in die Behandlungsunterlagen durch die Prozessanwälte in Arzthaftungsprozessen

Die von den Parteien nach § 134 ZPO oder die von Dritten nach § 142 Abs. 1 ZPO eingereichten Original-Urkunden sind nicht Teil der Gerichtsakten. Ein Anspruch auf Akteneinsicht bzw. auf die Erteilung von Abschriften folgt nicht unmittelbar aus § 299 ZPO. Bei Urkunden, die unmittelbar vom Gericht gem. § 142 ZPO bei Dritten angefordert werden, ergibt sich ein Anspruch auf die Anfertigung von Fotokopien aber sowohl aus den Regelungen der §§ 131, 133 ZPO sowie einer analogen Anwendung des § 299 ZPO unter Beachtung des Grundsatzes auf rechtliches Gehör gem. Art. 103 Abs. 1 GG.

§ 299 ZPO sieht eine Übersendung der Prozessakten an Prozessbevollmächtigte der Parteien nicht ausdrücklich vor. Die Versendung kann aber nach pflichtgemäßen Ermessen erfolgen, wenn die Akten entbehrlich und der Empfänger vertrauenswürdig ist. Bei der Entscheidung ist der Grundsatz des rechtlichen Gehörs zu berücksichtigen.

Dasselbe gilt für die von den Parteien oder gemäß § 142 ZPO von Dritten eingereichten Urkunden und Unterlagen dann, wenn die Person, zwischen der und dem Gericht das Verwahrungsverhältnis begründet wurde, einer Übersendung der Akten an die Prozessbevollmächtigten zustimmt. Bevor das Gericht eine Übersendung ablehnt, hat es zunächst bei den Dritten anzufragen, ob diese einer Übersendung der Unterlagen an die Prozessbevollmächtigten beider Parteien zustimmen.

Weiterlesen